Bookmark and Share

National Merit Scholarship Program honors RHS students

Eight Ridgewood High School students have been designated semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. Semifinalists have demonstrated exceptional academic ability and are the highest-scoring entrants in each state, representing less than one percent of high school seniors. An additional 22 students from Ridgewood High School have been identified as commended students in the 2019 competition.

“We are very proud of our students who have achieved this significant distinction,” said Principal Thomas Gorman. “This is a result of hard work and commitment to their academics.” Of approximately 1.5 million students who took the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) last October, approximately 16,000 qualified as semifinalists, giving them the opportunity to advance to the finalist level by fulfilling additional requirements. These include submitting a detailed scholarship application consisting of the semifinalist’s academic record, extracurricular and community activities, leadership, honors and awards, and employment. Finalists will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2500 Scholarships, and recipients will earn the prestigious honor of being named a Merit Scholar.

Commended students are recognized for their outstanding academic promise and comprise about 34,000 students. While these students will not continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship Awards, commended students may be candidates for special scholarships offered by corporations and businesses.

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their school plays in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Letters of Commendation from Ridgewood High School and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will be presented to these students.


Dev Chhabra, Alexander Cho, Alexandra Jerdee, Aum Mundhe, Samantha Ngai, Skyler Snow, William Stewart, Saori Takahashi

Commended Students

Emre Alptuna, Hannah Calaman, Catherine G. Chu, Jason J. Clark, Matthew E. DeMeulder, Patrick A. DeMeulder, Blaise R. Deleon, Julianne E. Flusche, Aaron Friedman, Daniella M. Granin, Justin A. Ivanov, Linda Kalna, Kyu Hong Kim, Marin Y. Kim, Zachary L. Kim, Kateryna Morhun, Nicholas R. Pruitt, Kai Sarma, Decklan L. Spencer, Claire Sullivan, Daniel J. Weispfenning, Daniel Y. Woo

Bookmark and Share